Prayer and Friendship

Read it all…think about it…read it again…think about it more…then pray.

The Center for Spiritual Formation

“For prayer is nothing else than being on terms of friendship with God.”

Saint Teresa of Avila

In recent years, evangelicals have had a resurgence of language asserting that God is our friend. I don’t argue with the truth of this statement but I wonder what we mean by it. (I put myself in this category.)

So often, it feels as if we are saying, “God is my big, strong, in charge friend so you better do things the way I like them or else…” That feels wrong to me. It claims that friendship is a one way street in which God is as much our hired hand as our friend. I don’t believe this is true.

‘God is our friend’ is a natural and right correction to an overwhelming fear of God. However, I need to hold that in balance with the truth that this friend of mine wants…

View original post 120 more words

Your $0.02 goes HERE

