A Conversation With God

My own life still swirls in chaotic directions (e.g., “How it really is 2.0” happened today), but this is a powerful post and worthy of consideration. Blessings, VKS

Keeping Company

God Delights In YouI recently came across an exercise of the imagination, where God speaks and you are invited to respond. I suggest going through each point slowly, savouring each with a deep breath and pause. However many you respond to is of course, yours to decide. But let the gentle and loving, forgiving and understanding voice of God speak to you, from this excerpt from a book called God Delights In You by John T. Catoir:

  • You don’t have to be clever to please Me. Just speak to Me as you would to anyone who cares about you.
  • Are there any people you want to pray for? Tell Me their names and ask for as much as you want. I am generous. Trust Me to do what I know is best.
  • Tell Me about your pride, your touchiness, your self-centeredness, your laziness. I still love you in spite of all your faults. Do…

View original post 212 more words

2 thoughts on “A Conversation With God

    • Let’s just say life took a nightmarish turn for “I dare you to find God in THIS territory last week that has life (a life that was already on shaky ground for stability, joy, and rest) completely coming unglued. I really can’t write much, especially when I’m being called to put out so many of life’s forest fires and wrangle three small children not my own at a moment’s notice. I can’t write, but I can read. I really do read everything from the blogs I follow, including yours.

      It’s like I wrote over on http://caminowitthcullen.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/scallop-shells/yesterday:

      “I have discovered, that if you write about anything that speaks with any measure of depth to the truth of the human experience, especially with respect to life and faith, there is a place where readership and followers transform a blog into something else that is of you…yet somehow no longer ‘yours.'”

      I don’t have time to write about life being complicated when I am living the complications, if that makes sense. My readership includes pastors and priests, the terminally ill, people in recovery from various things, and generally people who have suffered profound loss in their lives at a level that would break anyone without faith. When I can’t write, the most natural thing in the world is to lift up what I am reading and thinking about in my own life to lift up others.

      And there is a “but for the grace of God go I” element to life unravelling in my house last week. If my life were a scientific experiment, I am the “With Jesus” and a friend of mine is the “Control” (but there is no part of THAT idea that doesn’t make me weep…but if hope is rejected, what can one do?). I will someday right about that, but for now it’s all too fresh and unresolved.

      All that to say, thank you for writing where I could not. And sometimes — like the evangelism bit I wrote last wekend — the words of others give me something to write about.

      Blessings and thanks for the follow, and welcome to my tiny little corner of the universe (bring your own cobwebs). The guinea pigs requested I ask you if you brought any food (ignore them, they’re mad at me because I wasn’t home yesterday). — VKS

Your $0.02 goes HERE

